Just random thoughts from me



11.12.23

01:37

Uggggg graphic design so haaaard. I'm trying to maintain a black and white clip art style for the manual logos, but the only one I've found was for Adjustments, a wrench. Everything else has logos or watermarks, or it just doesn't work. Been having to design them in Illustrator. I'm tired, boss. Good night.

00:19

Came back to the site, and saw that I just got 100+ page visits on the counter. I only have 3 signs on the guestbook, and given that I just updated the website, i'm wondering if webscrapers count to the page count. I mean, they do, obviously. I'm wondering if the "2000" page views I have are mostly bots. Might just take the counter off, since that isn't a true number.


11.11.23

16:17

Got all the manuals uploaded, for right now theyre just a list of links. (Ironically, thats the exact way Mellens had it set up, which inspired me to make a better one) I think I want to have a grid of icons for each manual. Picture of a wrench for Adjustments, picture of a an airbag for Airbags, etc.

16:08

I was putting in the Manuals section on the menu bar, and I copied over the header from my home page. Turns out that, and the styling, was the key to make it centered. Still don't know how it works. Fuck it, we're doing it live.

15:42

Man I really do not know how HTML or CSS works, lol. The menu bar is centered on my index page, and I want that on all the pages. So I copy the <style> section in the index page, and just paste it in place on the blog page. Refresh the blog page, and it loses all its formatting; just a list of links. What the hell.

20:37

Woo, I forgot about this thing. I got a bunch of manuals from my Miata from Mellens.net. While I'm extremly grateful for the manuals, I don't really like his website's style. Might try and give a crack and making my own repository.


3.13.23

20:37

As is the deal with almost everything else on this website, I have very little understanding how it works, but I got the nav bar to be centered at the top. Now I just have to make it look better with font, highlighting, and maybe a background image.

19:41

To hell with it all. I'm deleting it and starting from scratch

19:04

Oh my god dude this is so annoying, i've pretty much gotten no progress on the nav bar. I hate CSS

18:11

Took some code from W3 again, not sure how it works but it's centered. Now the issue is that my title is overlapping the header. Maybe kill two birds with one stone and give the header some art styling and padding. Oh yeah, and I think one of the CSS stylings was screwing up the view counter. When I took it out, the counter reversed again (see 00:55 3.12.23). Re did the algorithm and it displayed normally. I don't want it up in the header anymore so for now its at the bottom.

17:52

Trying to figure out how to center my nav bar. So far, nothing seems to be working. I can center it, but then all the links are on top of one another. Not sure how to display them inline.



3.12.23

21:12

Yeah i'm not feeling it tonight. Good night

21:02

What to do... not sure what to work on for tonight. Website's not finished, that's for sure, but i'm not sure what to start first.

00:55

Alright so i didn't go to bed, but thats okay because I fixed the counter and added a guestbook. Turns out, the counter was still displaying incorrectly, but since I have access to the source code for this, I can fix it myself. For some reason, when I use the float: right style on the object it displays it in reverse, putting the ones place in the hundreds and the hundreds in the ones. I tweaked the loop, so now when I actually pull the hit count, I store it in reverse so that when it's displayed, it shows up correctly! Oh yeah, and I got a guestbook too. Hopefully I get some notes from people stoppin by :)

00:12

Woot, i got the counter working! It uses black and white icons, which i dont really like tbh. I want to see if I can get some green text ones somewhere. That'll have to wait til tomorrow though. It's bedtime.



3.11.23

23:34

Ah to hell with it, im doing the counter again. This time i'm trying one integrated with neocities. It uses AJAX and neocities API to get a counter. Credit to dannarchy, im following their guide.

23:12

Done with the top navigation bar that I copied from somewhere I can't remember. I followed W3's guide and I at least know how this one is put together. Still a temporary solution.

22:54

I give up on the counter for now. I've spent the last 40 minutes trying to figure out why the second option reverses the number order when floated to the right. The first option works great, but I like the second one because I can ignore my own visits while still counting multiple visits by other people.

22:13

Alright, we'll just start throwing down random thoughts I have while developing the site.

I want to implement a "hit counter" just to track views and to give that 90's feel, i've got two that are working right now.Both have their positives and negatives though. One looks pretty cool, its got neon green text over a black background, real matrix vibe. The other is just a plain dull green text, but it's functionality is better. The first one will count every single hit, even if it's the same user just hitting refresh (ie, me constantly updating the website). The second one will remember if its the same user, but now that I think about it, I don't think it resets at all, so it'll be totally unique visitors. Not sure if I want that.



3.10.23

Not sure what i'm gonna put here. Maybe have a public section, and a password protected private section? That'd be cool.